Rigoletto Giuseppe Verdi

UK premiere

 

Verdi’s towering opera tells a tragic tale. Rigoletto, a jester employed by a rich and dissolute Duke, is forced to keep his master well supplied with fresh conquests. As a web of court intrigue tightens around him, Rigoletto finds himself the victim of a grave curse, but it is his carefully protected daughter Gilda who is the one to suffer.

 

From the aching naivety of Gilda’s first love to the Duke’s unthinking revelry and Rigoletto’s tortured realisation of his failure as a father, Verdi takes the characters from elation to despair in an opera densely packed with extraordinary music.

 

Director Matthew Richardson brings this operatic classic to the stage in a stylish, intelligent and theatrical production. English baritone Eddie Wade sings Rigoletto in his debut in the role, and Nadine Livingston (Musetta in 2010’s La bohème) brings a fresh innocence to the role of Gilda. Tobias Ringborg conducts.

 

 

Rigoletto was performed at:

 

Theatre Royal Glasgow

Wed 11 May 2011

Sun 15 May 2011

Wed 18 May 2011

Sat 21 May 2011

Rigoletto Unwrapped - Fri 13 May 2011

 

Festival Theatre Glasgow

Tue 24 May 2011

Thu 26 May 2011

Sat 28 May 2011

Rigoletto Unwrapped - Wed 25 May 2011

 

His Majesty's Theatre, Aberdeen

Thu 2 Jun 2011

Sat 4 Jun 2011
Rigoletto Unwrapped - Fri 3 Jun 2011

 

Eden Court, Inverness

Thu 9 Jun 2011

Sat 11 Jun 2011

Rigoletto Unwrapped - Fri 10 Jun 2011

 

Sung in Italian with English supertitles Running time approximately 2 hours and 40 minutes