The Marriage of Figaro Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Don’t miss this new production of Mozart’s unstoppable masterpiece. Set in the late 18th century, it brings to life a lively, stylish world where position is everything and the upstairs/downstairs divide is absolute. But does everyone know their place in the pecking order?
 

The once charming Count Almaviva now spends his days pestering the serving girls. He has a particular soft spot for Susanna, the girl his servant Figaro hopes to marry that very day, and is planning to put a major spanner in the works. Figaro, Susanna and Almaviva’s wife conspire to stop him, but not before Figaro’s old foe, Dr Bartolo, makes an appearance with an unexpected guest.
 

Blending breathtaking arias and ensembles with irrepressible characters and chaotic humour, this is Mozart at his theatrical best. Internationally renowned baritone Sir Thomas Allen directs, and Thomas Oliemans, Figaro in 2007’s The Barber of Seville, returns to the title role. Acclaimed Mozartian baritone Roderick Williams sings Almaviva and Scottish soprano Kate Valentine sings the role of the Countess.

 

The Marriage of Figaro was performed at:

 

Theatre Royal Glasgow

Fri 29 Oct 2010

Sun 31Oct 2010

Tue 30 Nov 2010

Thu 2 Dec 2010

Sat 4 Dec 2010

Figaro Unwrapped - Wed 1 Dec 2010

 

Eden Court, Inverness

Thu 4 Nov 2010

Sat 6 Nov 2010

Figaro Unwrapped - Wed 3 Nov 2010

 

His Majesty's Theatre, Aberdeen

Thu 11 Nov 2010

Sat 13 Nov 2010

Figaro Unwrapped - Fri 12 Nov 2010


Festival Theatre Edinburgh

Fri 19 Nov 2010

Sun 21 Nov 2010

Tue 23 Nov 2010

Thu 25 Nov 2010

Sat 27 Nov 2010

Figaro Unwrapped - Thu 18 Nov 2010

 

 

Supported by

Dunard Fund

The Scottish Opera Syndicate

Scottish Opera's 'Play a Supporting Role' Appeal

Sung in Italian with English supertitles Running time approximately 3 hours and 20 minutes