The Barber of Seville Gioacchino Rossini

REVIVAL OF THE 2007 PRODUCTION

 

Back by popular demand – Sir Thomas Allen’s sell-out Barber returns for a second run. This vivacious and cheerful production is bright with the colours of southern Spain and packed with one fast-paced comic scene after another.

 

Count Almaviva has fallen in love with the young and beautiful Rosina but she is kept under lock and key by her guardian, Dr Bartolo, who has it in mind to marry her himself. Figaro, the local barber and resident ‘fixer’, signs up to help the rescue mission and has soon invented an outrageously complicated scheme to smuggle Almaviva into Bartolo’s house, and to smuggle Rosina out, right under her guardian’s nose…

 

With energetic ensembles, high-speed patter and lively coloratura arias, Rossini’s masterpiece is the perfect vehicle for a fantastic ensemble cast, including Ville Rusanen (Guglielmo in 2009’s Cosi fan tutte), Tiziano Bracci and Thomas Walker (Mustafa and Lindoro in 2009’s The Italian Girl in Algiers), and Claire Booth (Dorinda in 2011’s Orlando).

 

The Barber of Seville was performed at: 

 

Theatre Royal Glasgow

Fri 21 Oct 2011

Sun 23 Oct 2011

Tue 25 Oct 2011

Thu 27 Oct 2011

Sat 29 Oct 2011

The Barber of Seville Unwrapped - Thu 20 Oct 2011

 

Eden Court, Inverness

Thu 3 Nov 2011

Sat 5 Nov 2011

The Barber of Seville Unwrapped - Fri 4 Nov 2011

 

His Majesty's Theatre, Aberdeen

Thu 10 Nov 2011

Sat 12 Nov 2011

The Barber of Seville Unwrapped - Fri 11 Nov 2011

 

Festival Theatre Edinburgh

Tue 15 Nov 2011

Thu 17 Nov 2011

Sat 19 Nov 2011

The Barber of Seville Unwrapped - Wed 16 Nov

Supported by

Dunard Fund

 

Sung in Italian with English supertitles Running time approximately 2 hours 50 minutes