Tosca Giacomo Puccini

Masterfully conceived by a consummate storyteller, Anthony Besch’s treasured production of Tosca transports Puccini's powerful drama to Fascist Italy in the early 1940s, a setting entirely in tune with the dark intensity of this passionate tale. Rich with the glamour and detail of the period, the impressive staging brings to life the majesty and wonder of the Eternal City – Rome.

 

Floria Tosca is the talk of the town, a famed opera diva with many dazzled admirers. But she only has eyes for one man, Mario Cavaradossi. As his behaviour becomes suspicious, she fears he has another woman. But the truth is far more dangerous. Police Chief Scarpia is obsessed by Tosca, and plans to kill her lover and take her for himself. As Scarpia's schemes unfold, Tosca and Cavaradossi are drawn into a trap from which there is no escape.

 

Puccini’s music, at times heartbreakingly tender, at times powerful and harrowing, captures the sweeping span of this epic story - from the exquisite stillness of a silent dawn in Rome, to the raw drama of Tosca’s final, desperate plight. Susannah Glanville, star of Opera North’s 2009 production, returns to the title role. English baritone Robert Poulton is Scarpia, and Spanish tenor José Ferrero sings Cavaradossi. Music director Francesco Corti conducts.

 

REVIVAL OF THE 1980 PRODUCTION

 

Tosca was performed at:

 

Theatre Royal Glasgow

Fri 4 May 2012

Sun 6 May 2012

Tue 8 May 2012

Thu 10 May 2012

Sat 12 May 2012

Tosca Unwrapped Thu 3 May 2012

 

Eden Court, Inverness

Thu 17 May 2012

Sat 19 May 2012

Tosca Unwrapped Fri 18 May 2012

 

Festival Theatre Edinburgh

Wed 23 May 2012

Fri 25 May 2012

Sun 27 May 2012

Thu 31 May 2012

Sat 2 Jun 2012

Tosca Unwrapped Thu 24 May 2012

 

His Majesty’s Theatre, Aberdeen

Thu 7 Jun 2012

Sat 9 Jun 2012

Tosca Unwrapped Fri 8 Jun 2012

Sung in Italian with English Supertitles Running time approximately 2 hours and 45 minutes