Opera Sparks 2018

Little Black Lies
Music Matthew Whiteside Words Helene Grøn

Then to the Elements
Music Lewis Murphy Words Laura Attridge

Words & Music Henry McPherson

Scottish Opera's Opera Sparks competition was launched in April 2016 to give young people an opportunity to compose a new opera for performance. The winning operas were staged and performed by the Scottish Opera Connect Company in April 2018 in celebration of Connect's tenth anniversary.

The winning Opera Sparks entries were: Little Black Lies, by composer/librettist team Matthew Whiteside and Helene Grøn, Then to the Elements by Lewis Murphy and Laura Attridge, and Maud by composer/librettist, Henry McPherson.

Main image:  (left to right) Lewis Murphy, Henry McPherson, Helene Grøn, Laura Attridge and Matthew Whiteside. Photo Julie Broadfoot

Opera_sparks_900x557px.jpg (2)
Opera Sparks 2018 winners (left to right) Matthew Whiteside, Henry McPherson, Laura Attridge, Helene Grøn and Lewis Murphy. Scottish Opera 2017. Credit Julie Broadfoot..jpg (1)