Manon Jules Massenet
manon massenet leader image
A Scottish Opera première

"A vibrant performance...not to be missed."  The Guardian 

 

 

She can resist everything except temptation

 

A passionate and compelling account of a promising life that spirals out of control, Manon is a warning to those who are faced with too much opportunity in life, and who take too much, too soon.

 

The young Chevalier des Grieux falls in love with Manon at first sight. But she is as innocent and naïve as she is beautiful, and the promise of a more exciting life soon lures her from him into a world of opulence, gambling and debauchery; a world where everything is about money, but where fortunes can turn in an instant.

 

Set in the 18th century, this spectacular opera is one of the largest ever staged by Scottish Opera, with an impressive chorus of 46 and professional dancers performing the beautifully choreographed ballet scenes. Full of drama and vitality, the stylish production is the ideal partner to Massenet’s romantic and emotional score.

 

The creative team behind the show – director Renaud Doucet and designer André Barbe – have received high praise for their visionary collaborations throughout Europe and North America and make their UK debut with this new production. French singer Anne Sophie Duprels sings the part of Manon, alongside internationally acclaimed tenor Paul Charles Clarke. Scottish Opera Music Director Francesco Corti conducts.

 

Manon was performed at:

 

Theatre Royal Glasgow
Wed 20 May 2009
Sat 23 May 2009
Fri 29 May 2009
Sun 31 May 2009

Manon Unwrapped - Fri 22 May 2009

  

Eden Court, Inverness
Fri 5 June 2009
 

His Majesty's Theatre, Aberdeen
Fri 12 June 2009
 

Festival Theatre Edinburgh
Sat 20 June 2009
Wed 24 June 2009
Fri 26 June 2009
Manon Unwrapped - Tues 23 June 2009

 

Production supported by

The Alexander Gibson Circle

Sung in French with English supertitles Running time approximately 3 hours