La bohème Giacomo Puccini
La bohème leader image
Revival of 2004 production

When Mimi and Rodolfo meet, they fall hopelessly for each other - but the course of true love rarely runs smoothly and Puccini’s passionate and evocative music carries them from heart-stopping romance to heart-breaking loss as their story tumbles towards its conclusion.

 

It’s a familiar tale and one that rings true in any era. Tony award-winning Director Stewart Laing updates the action to the modern art scene of 21st century New York - as young, penniless artists, Mimi and Rodolfo, along with their friends Marcello and his flamboyant sweetheart Musetta, scrape a living together selling their work. The vibrant characters stand out all the more for the drab reality of their lives; their dreams of riches too easily lost in the chaos of the city that never sleeps…

 

La bohème is one of the world’s favourite operas for good reason and has inspired a generation of love stories, most recently Moulin Rouge. From Rodolfo’s tender singing of ‘Your tiny hand is frozen’ to Musetta’s provocative and fiery waltz and the beautifully guileless ‘They call me Mimi’, it perfectly captures the passion and the pain of being young, poor, and in love.

 

Young Irish soprano Celine Byrne and French tenor Avi Klemberg, make their Scottish Opera débuts. Nadine Livingston (who also takes the title role in this season’s Kátya Kabanová) sings Musetta. Scottish Opera Music Director Francesco Corti conducts.

 

Sung in Italian with English supertitles

 

La bohème was performed at:

 

Theatre Royal Glasgow
Sat 27 Feb 2010
Wed 3 Mar 2010
Sat 6 Mar 2010
Thu 11 Mar 2010
Sat 13 Mar 2010

La bohème Unwrapped - Tue 2 Mar 2010

 

Festival Theatre Edinburgh
Sun 18 Apr 2010
Tue 20 Apr 2010
Thu 22 Apr 2010
Sat 24 Apr 2010

La bohème Unwrapped - Mon 19 Apr 2010

 

His Majesty's Theatre, Aberdeen
Thu 29 Apr 2010
Sat 1 May 2010

La bohème Unwrapped - Fri 30 Apr 2010

 

Eden Court, Inverness
Thu 6 May 2010
Sat 8 May 2010 

La bohème Unwrapped - Fri 7 May 2010

 

Grand Opera House, Belfast

Thu 10 Jun 2010

Sat 12 Jun 2010  
La bohème Unwrapped - Fri 11 Jun 2010

 

Grand Canal Theatre, Dublin

Wed 16 Jun 2010

Fri 18 Jun 2010

Sat 19 Jun 2010

 

Sung in Italian with English supertitles Running time approximately 2 hours and 20 minutes