Opera Highlights 2014
Opera Highlights 2014

Each year we take four singers and a pianist out and about, travelling the highways and byways, by land, air and sea, to take a musical mix of opera highlights across Scotland.


This season we’re celebrating Opera Highlights’ 20th anniversary and we’re out on the road again, bringing you a fun-filled evening of music and good company. This year’s show explores the theme of love, one of the driving forces of opera. From passionate declarations to weeping for missed chances; love unrequited or wholeheartedly returned – we’re showcasing the full range of emotions.


The programme is packed full of operatic gems, with much-loved pieces from Mozart’s Così fan tutte, Verdi’s Rigoletto and Puccini’s La bohème to lesser-known works by Nicolai, Heuberger and Orefice. There’s also a world premiere from Scottish Opera’s Composer in Residence Gareth Williams.


So whether you’re new to opera or a seasoned fan, there’s sure to be something for you, be it a tune you’re discovering for the first time or an old favourite you’ll be humming all the way home.


This year’s singers are mezzo-soprano Máire Flavin (Orpheus in the Underworld, 2011), tenor Paul Curievici (In the Locked Room, 2012), and two of our 2013/14 Emerging Artists – soprano Sarah Power and baritone Andrew McTaggart.


Opera Highlights toured to: Livingston, Ardfern, Mull, Ballachulish, Skye, Gairloch, Carrbridge, Orkney, Fortrose, Crieff, Midmar, Montrose, Cupar, Dalbeattie, Selkirk, Arran, Maybole and East Kilbride.

25 February to 5 April 2014

Listen to extracts from Opera Highlights:

Leoncavallo Si può
Juan Pons / Riccardo Muti / Philadelphia Orchestra (Philips)
Rinaldo Lascia ch’io pianga
Cecilia Bartoli / Christopher Hogwood / Academy of Ancient Music (Decca)
Rigoletto La donna è mobile
Luciano Pavarotti / Richard Bonynge / London Symphony Orchestra (Decca)
La Bohème Quando m’en vo
Elizabeth Harwood / Herbert von Karajan / Berliner Philharmoniker (Decca)
Così fan tutte Soave sia il vento
Carol Vaness / Delores Ziegler / Claudio Desderi / London Philharmonic Orchestra / Bernard Haitink (EMI)
The Gondoliers We’re called gondolieri
Richard Lewis / John Cameron / Pro Arte Orchestra / Sir Malcolm Sargent (EMI)

Licensed by agreement with Decca Classics and Warner Classics. All excerpts taken from recordings of the full opera, which are available on the labels’ websites  www.deccaclassics.com and www.emiclassics.com


Supported by The Friends of Scottish Opera

Running time 2 hrs approximately