Pop-Up Opera 2018

Supported by Festival 2018

Callander and Trossachs Summerfest

Callander

Sat 28 Jul

Book Tickets

Glasgow Green

Glasgow

Thu 2 Aug to Thu 9 Aug

Book Tickets

Platform

Easterhouse

Fri 3 Aug

Book Tickets

Springburn Park

Glasgow

Sat 4 Aug

Book Tickets

Kids and Adults Together in Sighthill

Glasgow

Sun 5 Aug

Book Tickets

Callander and Trossachs Summerfest

Callander

Sat 28 Jul

Book Tickets

Glasgow Green

Glasgow

Thu 2 Aug to Thu 9 Aug

Book Tickets

Platform

Easterhouse

Fri 3 Aug

Book Tickets

Springburn Park

Glasgow

Sat 4 Aug

Book Tickets

Kids and Adults Together in Sighthill

Glasgow

Sun 5 Aug

Book Tickets

Drumchapel Community Centre

Glasgow

Tue 7 Aug

Book Tickets

North United Communities

Glasgow

Wed 8 Aug

Book Tickets

Ruchill Community Centre

Glasgow

Fri 10 Aug

Book Tickets

Moss O' Balloch Park

Balloch

Sat 11 Aug

Book Tickets

Pollok Civic Realm

Glasgow

Sun 12 Aug

Book Tickets

Fallin Primary School

Stirling

Wed 15 Aug

Book Tickets

Balgrayhill Community Centre

Glasgow

Fri 17 Aug

Book Tickets

Horsecross Plaza

Perth

Sat 18 Aug

Book Tickets

West of Scotland Housing Association

Glasgow

Sun 19 Aug

Book Tickets

North Edinburgh Arts

Edinburgh

Fri 24 Aug

Book Tickets

Kirkintilloch Canal Festival

Kirkintilloch

Sat 25 Aug

Book Tickets

The Albert Halls

Stirling

Sun 26 Aug

Book Tickets

Pop-up Opera is back on the road in 2018. Two brilliant shows for audiences of all ages are brought to life by a storyteller, singers, musicians and a series of colourful illustrations. Both 25-minute shows are performed in a specially-adapted, fully-accessible trailer, touring festivals, events and venues around Scotland. This year, there are extra performances in Glasgow and its partner local authorities as part of Festival 2018, the cultural programme for the Glasgow 2018 European Championships.

For booking details and further information, please contact individual venues.

  

A Little Bit of HMS Pinafore │Gilbert & Sullivan arr. Derek Clark

Aboard the ship HMS Pinafore, Josephine, the captain's daughter, is in love with one of the crew. Her father definitely doesn't approve. Overturning social order and parental wishes alike, the couple plan to elope. But a surprise confession soon leaves everything in doubt...

Be a Sport, Spike! │Music Karen MacIver Words Ross Stenhouse│For kids aged 4 to 7

Meet Mike 'The Spike' McTavish - the greatest sportsman the world has ever seen. There's no one who can run faster, jump higher or swim further than mega-fit Spike. But there is one thing that Spike can't do - sing! Join him and his friends as he starts to exercise those vocal cords, and finds out that a little perseverance can go a long way.

 

Cast & Creative Team

Soprano
Jessica Leary

Baritone
Oscar Castellino & Andrew McTaggart

Cello
Andrew Drummond Huggan & Laura Sergeant

Guitar
Sasha Savaloni & Ian Watt

Narrators
Flora Munro & Steven Wren