Pop-Up Opera 2018

Supported by Festival 2018

Perth Festival of the Arts

Perth

Fri 25 May to Sat 26 May

Book Tickets

Castlebay School

Isle of Barra

Wed 30 May to Thu 31 May

Book Tickets

Sgoil Dhalabroig

South Uist

Fri 1 Jun

Book Tickets

Talla an Iochdar

South Uist

Sat 2 Jun

Book Tickets

Sgoil Bhaile a'Mhanaich

Benbecula

Mon 4 Jun

Book Tickets

Perth Festival of the Arts

Perth

Fri 25 May to Sat 26 May

Book Tickets

Castlebay School

Isle of Barra

Wed 30 May to Thu 31 May

Book Tickets

Sgoil Dhalabroig

South Uist

Fri 1 Jun

Book Tickets

Talla an Iochdar

South Uist

Sat 2 Jun

Book Tickets

Sgoil Bhaile a'Mhanaich

Benbecula

Mon 4 Jun

Book Tickets

Sgoil Uibhist a Tuath

North Uist

Tue 5 Jun

Book Tickets

Tolsta Primary School

Isle of Lewis

Thu 7 Jun

Book Tickets

Uig Primary School

Isle of Lewis

Fri 8 Jun

Book Tickets

Tong Community Centre

Isle of Lewis

Sat 9 Jun

Book Tickets

Lews Castle

Isle of Lewis

Sat 9 Jun

Book Tickets

North Lochs Community Centre

Isle of Lewis

Sat 9 Jun

Book Tickets

Leverhulme Memorial School

Isle of Harris

Wed 13 Jun

Book Tickets

The Macphail Centre

Ullapool

Fri 15 Jun

Book Tickets

Armadale Castle

Isle of Skye

Mon 18 Jun

Book Tickets

Sligachan Hotel

Isle of Skye

Tue 19 Jun

Book Tickets

Dunvegan Castle

Isle of Skye

Wed 20 Jun

Book Tickets

Solas Festival

Perth

Sat 23 Jun to Sun 24 Jun

Book Tickets

Haddington Show

East Fortune

Sat 30 Jun

Book Tickets

Pop-up Opera is back on the road in 2018. Three brilliant shows for audiences of all ages are brought to life by a storyteller, singers, musicians and a series of colourful illustrations. Each of the three 25-minute shows is performed in a specially-adapted, fully-accessible trailer, touring festivals, events and venues around Scotland. This year, there will be extra performances in Glasgow and its partner local authorities as part of the cultural festival taking place alongside the Glasgow 2018 European Championships.

For booking details and further information, please contact individual venues.

  

A Little Bit of HMS Pinafore │Gilbert & Sullivan arr. Derek Clark

Aboard the ship HMS Pinafore, Josephine, the captain's daughter, is in love with one of the crew. Her father definitely doesn't approve. Overturning social order and parental wishes alike, the couple plan to elope. But a surprise confession soon leaves everything in doubt...

A Little Bit of Eugene Onegin │Tchaikovsky arr. Derek Clark

A lovesick young girl; a cocky young man who thoughtlessly spurns her; a heart-stopping duel between should-be friends. Tchaikovsky's sweeping music perfectly captures the desperation and raw emotion of Pushkin's much-loved masterpiece.

Be a Sport, Spike! │Music Karen MacIver Words Ross Stenhouse│For kids aged 4 to 7

Meet Mike 'The Spike' McTavish - the greatest sportsman the world has ever seen. There's no one who can run faster, jump higher or swim further than mega-fit Spike. But there is one thing that Spike can't do - sing! Join him and his friends as he starts to exercise those vocal cords, and finds out that a little perseverance can go a long way.

 

Touring 25 May to 26 Aug 2018

Tour includes: Perth Festival of the Arts, Isle of Barra, South Uist, Benbecula, North Uist, Isle of Harris, Isle of Lewis, Ullapool, Isle of Skye, Solas Festival, the Haddington Show, Callander and the Festival 2018 programme.

 

Cast & Creative Team

Soprano
Jessica Leary

Baritone
Oscar Castellino & Andrew McTaggart

Cello
Andrew Drummond Huggan & Laura Sergeant

Guitar
Sasha Savaloni & Ian Watt

Narrators
Flora Munro & Steven Wren