OPERA UNWRAPPED 

RIGOLETTO 2018
Glasgow Mon 22 Oct, 6pm
Aberdeen Fri 2 Nov, 6pm
Edinburgh Mon 12 Nov, 6pm
Inverness Wed 21 Nov, 6pm

KÁTYA KABANOVÁ 2019
Glasgow Wed 13 Mar, 6pm
Edinburgh Fri 22 Mar, 6pm

THE MAGIC FLUTE 2019
Glasgow Thu 9 May, 6pm
Inverness Fri 24 May, 6pm
Aberdeen Fri 31 May, 6pm
Edinburgh Thu 6 Jun, 6pm


Whether you’re new to opera or an old hand, you can find out more at Opera Unwrapped – an hour-long taster that gives an insight into our shows and how they are created.

Presented from the stage at each of our four main venues (in Glasgow, Edinburgh, Inverness and Aberdeen), our Unwrapped events involve singers, back-stage crew and The Orchestra of Scottish Opera.

You’ll hear highlights from the music and find out more about the props, costumes, lighting and direction, as well as some back-stage secrets.

Tickets are just £5 - come along and find out more!

Presenter
Allan Dunn

Theatre Royal Glasgow 0844 871 7647
Festival Theatre Edinburgh 0131 529 6000
His Majesty's Theatre, Aberdeen 01224 641 122
Eden Court, Inverness 01463 234 234

See full box office information

PRE-SHOW TALKS

RIGOLETTO 2018
Glasgow Sat 27 Oct 6pm
Aberdeen Sat 3 Nov 6pm
Edinburgh Sat 17 Nov 6pm
Inverness Sat 24 Nov 6pm

ANTHROPOCENE 2019
Glasgow Sat 26 Jan 6pm
Edinburgh Sat 2 Feb 6pm

KÁTYA KABANOVÁ 2019
Glasgow
Sat 16 Mar 6pm
Edinburgh Sat 23 Mar 6pm

THE MAGIC FLUTE 2019
Glasgow Sat 18 May 6pm
Inverness Sat 25 May 6pm
Aberdeen Sat 1 Jun 6pm
Edinburgh Sat 15 Jun 6pm

Want to know more about the opera you’re going to see? Look out for a performance with a Pre-show Talk. These free half-hour talks delve deeper into the opera, enhancing your enjoyment and extending your knowledge.

Tickets are free but should be reserved by calling the box office at your chosen venue. Limited availability.

Theatre Royal Glasgow 0844 871 7647
Festival Theatre Edinburgh 0131 529 6000
His Majesty's Theatre, Aberdeen 01224 641 122
Eden Court, Inverness 01463 234 234

See full box office information

AUDIO-DESCRIBED PERFORMANCES

Touch Tours start at 6pm for evening performances and 2.45pm for Sunday matinees.

PAGLIACCI 2018
Paisley Sun 29 Jul 3pm (Pre-show introduction 2pm)

RIGOLETTO 2018
Glasgow Sat 27 Oct 7.15pm
Aberdeen Sat 3 Nov 7.15pm
Edinburgh Sun 11 Nov 3pm
Inverness Sat 24 Nov 7.15pm

ANTHROPOCENE 2019
Glasgow Sat 26 Jan 7.15pm
Edinburgh Sat 2 Feb 7.15pm

KÁTYA KABANOVÁ 2019
Glasgow Sat 16 Mar 7.15pm
Edinburgh Sat 23 Mar 7.15pm

THE MAGIC FLUTE 2019
Glasgow Sun 12 May 3pm
Inverness Sat 25 May 7.15pm
Aberdeen Sat 1 Jun 7.15pm
Edinburgh Sun 9 Jun 3pm

Opera: music, costumes, set. We want you to experience it all.

Mention opera and most people think of singing and music, but this is only part of the overall experience. What about scenery, costumes, lighting, direction and choreography? Audio-description helps visually-impaired patrons enjoy the opera experience with a live commentary that describes the action on stage without compromising the music.

As part of the experience, we include:

  • A free introductory CD, sent out in advance of the performance. 
  • A free Touch Tour of the set, costumes and props before the show.
  • An audio introduction 15 minutes before the start of the performance.

If you or someone you know is interested in booking for an audio-described performance, please make this clear when you contact the box office at your chosen theatre. Discounted tickets are available. Tickets for audio-described performances and Touch Tours must be booked at least two weeks in advance. Guide dogs are welcome.

Please note: tickets for audio-described performances at Theatre Royal Glasgow should be booked through their Groups Department at the number below.

Theatre Royal Glasgow 0800 912 6971
Festival Theatre Edinburgh 0131 529 6000
His Majesty's Theatre, Aberdeen 01224 641 122
Eden Court, Inverness 01463 234 234

See full box office information

INTERESTED IN JOINING THE TEAM?

We are always looking for new audio describers to join our dedicated team. If you have some time to spare and would like to find out what is involved, please email Iona Jack

DEMENTIA FRIENDLY 
PERFORMANCES

THE MAGIC FLUTE 2019
Glasgow Thu 16 May 3pm
Edinburgh Fri 7 Jun 3pm

These specially created performances are fully-staged, and performed by a narrator, The Orchestra of Scottish Opera, and a wonderful cast of singers. Audiences are lead through the story, and hear some of the best-loved music from the opera. Lighting levels in the auditorium are brighter, and people are able to come in and out of the auditorium during the performance and see the show in the bar on TV screens.

Groups welcome – call your local box office to book.

Presenter Allan Dunn

Supported by: Miss E.C. Hendry's Charitable Trust

ACCESSIBILITY

Find accessibility and venue information for our regular theatres:

Theatre Royal Glasgow
Festival Theatre Edinburgh
His Majesty’s Theatre, Aberdeen
Eden Court, Inverness